BREAKING BAD 515: GRANITE STATE

a_560x375

Who wants $10,000 to sit with me for an hour?

Yeah, like I have that kind of money.  Apologies for the delay in posting this week’s review.  CJ and I were in Vegas this weekend celebrating CJ’s 30th birthday and let’s just say that we are still recovering.  We had an interesting time trying to figure out how and when we were going to watch this week’s episode of Breaking Bad (since we came home to find our cable out), but a 40 min drive out to CJ’s parent’s house seemed worth it.  And, it definitely was.  Let’s get to talking…

1.  There goes the happy ending – I have been holding out hope desperately that Jesse will be saved by Walt and will be reunited with Andrea and Brock and go on to lead a productive and happy life.  Well folks, it seems like that ship has sailed.  Not only is Andrea dead (which I still don’t think I have recovered from), but it is becoming very very clear to me that Walt really doesn’t give a shit about Jesse.  At no point in his months stranded in the wilderness is there even a hint that Walt feels bad about Jesse.  I would be shocked at this point if Jesse gets saved by Walt.  [Insert heart-break.]

2.  Poor Junior – Is it just me or has Junior had more scenes these last 8 episodes than he did the entire rest of the series?  I found the scene with Walt and Junior on the phone to be particularly gut-wrenching.  Didn’t your heart just break for Junior?  I was glad that Junior finally got an opportunity to tell his father off, afterall I am sure that he had been running over and over in his mind what he would say to Walt if he ever got the chance.  The words “why aren’t you dead yet” still send chills down my spine when I think about them.

3.  Does Schwartz really mean black? – According to the internet it does.  You know who the last people on the planet I would want to be right now, Gretchen and Elliot Schwartz.  Something bad is coming their way and his name is Walter White.  So does this mean that the ricin is for the Grey Matter group and not Lydia?  Or, is both the gun and the ricin intended to be used on the Schwartzes?  I don’t think it is a far stretch to assume that Walt doesn’t give a crap about his fortune anymore (and thus isn’t going back to get rid of Uncle Jack) because as Junior said, his family doesn’t want any of it.  That then leaves a possibility that Walt’s final trip back to New Mexico is merely for revenge for all the wrongs the Grey Matter team committed against Walt over the years.  Just a thought.

4.  I could really go for a Cinnabon – It appears that this week we said goodbye to Saul.  But, he certainly did not go out without a bang.  The final argument between Walt and Saul was intense and I left that scene realizing that other than Mike, Saul is probably the most self-aware character on this show.  Saul realizes that this money making adventure he has been on with Walt is over and it is time to move on.  Although I can’t imagine that he is particularly happy about it, I think Saul will end up being just fine as a manager of a Cinnabon in Omaha.  Maybe, AMC should have done a sequel, instead of a prequel with Saul.  I would like to see Saul trying to navigate the terrain in Nebraska shopping mall.

5.  Who do you root for? – Not an atypical question for Breaking Bad and one whose answer has probably changed over the season.  As we enter into this last episode, I can’t help but feel conflicted.  Do I want Walt to come out on top?  Is Jesse truly the only person I really care about?  I know it my heart that I want Jesse to get out of this mess that he is in.  But, I also crave some sort of redemption for Walt.  Let’s be real though, what are the chances that Breaking Bad has a fairy-tale ending?  Slim to none.

What did y’all think?

-LJ

Leave a Reply

