AN OPEN LETTER: TO HOMELAND

Image

Dear Homeland, please stop with the Dana Brody story lines, please.

CJ will be the first to tell you that I am a harsh critic of Homeland.  (This is partly the reason that I do not do weekly reviews of the show; I can’t bring myself to care about it enough write about it each week).  But, I don’t think this particular criticism is limited only to me.  In fact, I know it’s not.  I can’t handle another week of Dana Brody-centric story lines.  I really can’t.  Please just make it stop.

Morgan Saylor recently did an interview where she compared the backlash for Dana Brody to that which Anna Gunn received for her portrayal of Skyler White (see http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2013/10/06/homeland-star-morgan-saylor-tv-s-most-hated-character-talks-back.html).  Let’s get real though.  Skyler White was a complex and multi-layered character who often got put in the position of being the “bad guy” stamping out all of Walter White’s “fun.”  This is what resulted in a good portion of the backlash.  Dana Brody is nowhere close to that.  She is just a moody teenager with no real purpose on the show.

My main issue with the character of Dana Brody is that no one has ever established why I need to care about her and her life.  Isn’t Homeland supposed to really be about Carrie Mathison?  And, yes, by virtue of that we were brought into the life of Nicholas Brody.  But, that doesn’t mean that Brody’s life was supposed to take center stage…at least not in my eyes.  In Season 1, the character of Dana Brody was at least somewhat interesting in that she served as a way for her father to stay grounded (or somewhat served as a moral compass for her dad); afterall, he didn’t blow himself up because of her.  Now, however, we are in Season 3 and Brody hasn’t even been in the the first two episodes.  So, I am really straining for a reason to care about what has been happening to his family since his disappearance.

My second issue with Dana Brody is that I find teenage angst really kind of boring.  If I wanted to watch a show about the difficulties of growing up as a teenager, I would turn on Teen Mom.  Further, it’s not like Homeland is putting a new spin on the drama teenagers face.  Instead, we find out that Dana has dealt with the destruction her father caused by trying to commit suicide and by making poor decisions in the name of teenage “love.”**  You could transplant this story line to any other show involving teens.  Heck, it sounds like an episode right out of Pretty Little Liars (don’t worry, I am definitely not knocking Pretty Little Liars).  I thought Homeland might have been trying to do something with Dana continuing on in her father’s footsteps with his religious practices–that would have at least been a twist in the story–but, as Morgan Saylor revealed in her interview, it turns out that was just Dana’s way of saying goodbye to her father.  Snooze fest.

**Side note – Dana hasn’t learned the dangers of taking too many “selfies,” really?  Maybe she should spend some more time watching the Today Show and not sulking in her room.

Finally, can someone please explain to me the value that is added to the show by adding another romantic love interest for Dana?  Because I don’t get it.  Again, I go back to my point above, this show isn’t supposed to be about Dana’s love life.  Yet, this week episode spent upwards of 30 minutes with her thinking about or spending time with the kid from rehab.  We just got over having to watch Finn and Dana make googly eyes at each other for most of Season 2 and now we have another run-of-the-mill love interest to deal with in Season 3.  Let me guess, the guy somehow breaks Dana’s heart and she ends up  spiraling out of control or actually having to deal with what her father has done??  That is some dynamic story telling Homeland…oh wait.

Ok, I have said my piece.  I am sure my prayers will go unanswered, but it feels good to get this off my chest.  I will leave with this, I don’t wish harm on Dana Brody, I just simply want to stop watching her on TV.  Period.

-LJ

Leave a Reply

