THE WALKING DEAD 405: INTERNMENT

walking-dead-internment-hershel-walker

Who is in for spaghetti Tuesdays?

As you can probably tell from the blog, it’s been a busy week in our household.  Unfortunately, when that happens it means that the blog takes a backseat.  I promised myself though that I would write about last week’s TWD episode before Sunday night.  And, while I am certainly cutting it close, I still have time.  So let’s get to talking before we find out what the Governor has in store for our prison gang…

1.  The Governor is back (unfortunately) – Now, I think David Morrissey is freakin awesome.  I really do.  And, I will say that the last shot of the Governor at the end of the episode completely shocked me (which is always a good thing).  But, I am not pumped for the Governor’s return.  In my mind, the problem with the second half of season 3 was largely due to the caricature that the Governor became.  His character became a mad-man who was no longer grounded in reality, which made it incredibly hard to equate The Walking Dead world to real life.  In the end, I felt like the Governor was a “big bad” that just didn’t end up being as great as it could have been.  So, I have been hoping that the show would simply leave the Governor in the past and concentrate on the new “big bad” in season 4–the zombie death flu.  It appears now that this is not the case.  So, I can only hope that the writing for the Governor is better this season and the character becomes a lot less cartoonish.  After all, David Morrissey can be brilliant, so let’s try and give him a better character.

*So, judging from the shot of the Governor, I am assuming that he is the one who orchestrated the mass hoards of zombies attacking the fence.  But, the scene of our mystery rat person, showed someone from the inside of the fence feeding the zombies, correct?  I guess this means that someone in the prison is still on team Governor (as a lot of the internet predicted).  Who do you think it is though?  Bob?  He does seem crazy enough.

2.  So, Maggie is pretty awesome – There was a lot of impressive marksmanship this episode.  But, I think we can agree that Maggie wins the award for most impressive shot.  I was somewhat pissed at her stupidity to go into the infected-zone when it clearly meant that she was putting herself at risk, but in the end I am sure glad that she did.  Further, she certainly proved herself to be a strong and capable young lady.  It is comforting to know that the younger generation is capable of standing up and taking on difficult situations–at least there is potential for their survival even without the “adults” of the group.

3.  A little father-son bonding – I know Rick has been struggling with trying to raise his kids in this zombie world.  And, I think his attempts to give Carl a “real” childhood are admirable.  But, let’s be honest, they are somewhat naive.  I think Rick has finally realized that and is attempting to strike somewhat of a balance between letting Carl be an “adult” sometimes and still trying to preserve his childhood.  Because the truth of the matter is that the group needs Carl.  Carl can be extremely reliable and capable when it is needed and with some guidance can eventually turn into a leader in the group.  I can’t even imagine what would have happened had Carl not been there to machine-gun-down all those zombies alongside Rick.

**Let’s pause and remember the awesomeness that ensued when Rick and Carl took down the hoards of zombies.

4.  Talk to Rick – I am assuming that Daryl is going to find out what has happened to Carol in tonight’s episode.  I can’t imagine that this talk is going to go as well as Rick’s conversations with Maggie and Hershel.  I just really really hope that there isn’t a major freak-out when Daryl hears the news.

5.  Lizzie – Lizzie still continues to be creep me out.  She names the zombies, she now takes to calling them like a puppy, and likes to play with blood.  I am glad she saved Glen, but this girl still be crazy.

What did y’all think?

-LJ

Leave a Reply

