WHAT TO WATCH: MARCH 2014

ImageSo we are already a week and a half into March and I’m just now getting around to writing this post. That’s for various reasons. One of which includes the fact that there is simply not that much worth talking about in March. While April will bring us HBO comedies, Game of Thrones, and most importantly Mad Men, March has very little to offer in way of new content worth watching. But alas, the show must go on, so here’s a few things you might want to look for this month:

7. March Madness (CBS, TBS, TNT and TruTV, March 20): I don’t think I’ve watched a single second of NCAA basketball this season, but that doesn’t mean the tournament isn’t a worthwhile TV event. Mainly because, you know, when else can you see Duke basketball on TV?

6. Believe (NBC, March 10): Let’s just be totally honest here. This is a show I’m probably not going to watch. But there is some logic to it being included on this list. Executive Producer and Director of the pilot episode is none other than Academy Award winning director Alfonso Cuaron. The pilot is actually airing right now, as I sit here to write this, but I’m watching highlights from the Wizards/Heat game, so yeah, I’m not going to watch this show. But maybe I’ll just go watch Gravity again?

5. Crisis (NBC, March 16): Another NBC midseason show, and this one, I may actually watch (the pilot at least). The show has been described as being basically the same premise as Hostages (the incredibly short-lived CBS fall show) starring Dylan McDermott and Toni Collette, replacing those actors with the confusingly similar Durmot Mulroney and Gillian Anderson (I really wish Anderson would just stick around on Hannibal, where she is amazing). I have very low expectations for this show, but suspect I will at least watch the pilot, and likely nothing more.

4. Whose Line Is It Anyway (The CW, March 21): Aisha Tyler (Lana on Archer) replaced Drew Carey last fall on the return of Whose Line, and the show barely skipped a beat. I grew up watching the Drew Carey’s Whose Line (though I missed the British original), and was so happy to see it back. The CW ordering more episodes of Whose Line was great news, and if you weren’t watching last fall, I highly recommend taking 22 minutes every week to enjoy this fun, funny escape.

3. Bates Motel (A&E, March 9): I’m still working my way through season 1 of Bates Motel on Netflix. It’s a show I started watching live last spring, but got so far behind, I just gave up. I did hear (and now have seen some myself) that the show improved as it went along, so when it showed up on Netflix, I thought it might be a fun idea to try to catch up. And regardless of the storylines, and if it might bother you to see Psycho: The Prequel, the performances of Vera Farmiga and Freddie Highmore are as good as any on TV and show an incredibly strange look at the mother/son relationship. Interesting, creepy as hell, funny at times and appropriately scary, Bates Motel and the two lead performers in particular, are worth your time.

2. Cosmos: A Spacetime Odyssey (Just about every network on your TV, March 9): An update of the Carl Sagan PBS special from a couple decades ago, this version of Cosmos is hosted by current internet hero Neil deGrasse Tyson. I am a little too young to have a lot of exposure to the Carl Sagan original, but I couldn’t be more excited for this version. I am so intrigued by the science of our universe, but feel so under-educated about it. So take that subject which I am horribly interested in, and put it on my TV, something I am very educated in…What could be better?!

1. Psych Series Finale (USA, March 26): Eight seasons, more fun than you can shake a pineapple at. What is there to even say about bidding farewell to Psych? It’s never been the most important show of my TV calendar, but it’s always been one I’ve looked forward to, because of it’s fun, funny, often sweet and charming. The duo of Shawn and Gus is as good as any, it’s like a younger version of the Hank/Brit duo from Terriers. These last few episodes of Psych are something I’ll cherish, and I’ll be so sad to say goodbye. Thanks for the great fun Steve Franks and James Roday. It’s been a treat.

-CJ

Leave a Reply

