GAME OF THRONES 403: BREAKER OF CHAINS

game-of-thrones-s4e3-sansa

So, last week was the episode after the episode that included the big purple wedding, which basically means that it had a lot to live up to.  And, for the most part, I think it did.  But, because there was no major event this week, it also meant that we returned to sorta tour-guide mode, i.e., we spent most of the episode checking in with different people at different places.  This, for the most part, is the typical Game of Thrones model for each episode, but it usually means that we only get to see little snip-bits of everyone.  Personally, I am just glad to see Dany again.*  Let’s get to talking.

*I know we don’t talk about movies on this blog, but CJ and I recently saw Emilia Clarke in Dom Hemingway (starring Jude Law).  Awesome movie and Emilia was amazing, plus she sings, so I pretty much died.

1.  Off course it was Littlefinger – So first things first, we get confirmation that Dontos was involved the poisoning plot and that it was partially designed to get Sansa out of King’s Landing.  However, it is also revealed that the mastermind behind the poisoning plot was Littlefinger.  Gosh, I hate Littlefinger.  He is so smarmy.  And, now, Sansa has been delivered into his arms.  Don’t forget that Littlefinger always had a thing for Sansa’s mother, which kind of adds a whole new creepiness into this scenario.  I am glad that Sansa is out of King’s Landing (and hopefully out of the clutches of the Lannisters), but is she really any better off with Littlefinger?  At least at the moment, I suppose, she isn’t being tried for killing the King, so there is the upside.**

**I am still not clear if the Tyrells were involved in the Littlefinger plan or not.  But, last episode seemed to imply that Margaery may end up getting to marry Joffrey’s younger brother now…whose name I should probably start learning at this point.

2.  That thing that happened – Most of the talk surrounding this past episode seemed to be about the scene between Jaime and Cersei and whether or not it was consensual or not.  I don’t really want to get into that aspect of the scene.  Because whether it was or it wasn’t, I am most upset about it because Jaime still wants to be “doing it” with his sister.  And, that is still super gross.  I loved the Jaime of last season, i.e., the Jaime outside of King’s Landing–the one who jumped into a bear pit with one arm to save Brienne.  I don’t want Jaime to revert back to his old ways simply because he is back in King’s Landing.  I want the new and improved Jaime.

3.  Tywin is in the empire business – I think it is abundantly clear that the worst person in King’s Landing and maybe all of Westeros is Tywin.  He has the most influence and power, now that Joffrey is dead, he is pretty much the de facto King…given how malleable young Tommen appears to be.  It’s just moments after Joffrey’s death and we see Tywin laying the foundation for his manipulation of the future new King, Tommen.  We also see him firming up his alliances; for instance, by recruiting Oberyn Martell to fill the open spot on the Small Council.  I just hope Oberyn has still kept his hatred of the Lannisters with him, even if he does appear to come the side of the Lannisters.

4.  Stannis – Remember when Stannis made such a big deal about the threat from the North?  Well we are now three episodes into season 4 and he hasn’t mentioned it yet.  This bugs the hell out of me. I mean I get that he is still interested in being the “King,” but I am a little disappointed that he hasn’t expressed any concerns about what is happening in the North, beyond what we saw in the season 3 finale.  Get it together buddy.

5.  I really need a prison break – How long are we going to have to watch Tyrion be in prison for?  Actually, I suppose, I should be happy that he is in prison and not dead yet.  I just really don’t want to see Tyrion stuck in prison for the rest of the season.  At least, we still get to see him giving some amazing speeches, even if he is just stuck in a room for the entire episode.***

***And, what does Tyrion’s accusal mean for Bronn?  It seems like we won’t have any more Jaime/Bronn sword lessons anytime soon, right?

6.  Mother of Dragons does it again – Not only do we get to witness Daario #2 easily and masterfully take out the champion of Meereen, but we also get to see Dany being Dany, which is always a thing of greatness.  To be honest, I was little worried that Dany was attacking the city with all of the innocent slaves watching (that didn’t seem like the right thing to do). But, when the barrels broke and revealed broken chains and collars, I was in awe of Dany’s intelligence and strategy.  Whether Dany ever makes it to Westeros or not, I don’t think it matters to me.  I could watch Dany being Dany for hours.

113499-Game-of-thrones-Meereen-slaves-yOtg

Obviously, much more happened in last week’s episode (I didn’t even touch on the Jon Snow or Sam bits or the new adventures of Arya and the Hound), but seeing as this post is happening so late, we might as well just wait a few more hours and see what is in store for them this week.  Happy Game of Thrones Day everyone!

-LJ

One thought on “GAME OF THRONES 403: BREAKER OF CHAINS

  1. Great analysis and recap as always. I had forgotten that Stannis at the end of last season was reacting to the danger outlined in the message from the Night’s Watch.

    Hmmm…

Leave a Reply

